|YALC – Saturday 12th July, AKA BEST DAY EVER|

On Saturday 12th of July, I hitched a ride with media and film students from my college and made my way to London for YALC at London Film and Comic Con. 

IT WAS AWESOME.

Seriously, I had so much fun. Here’s a rundown:

Surprisingly, I managed to sleep the night before and didn’t wake up ridiculously early in anticipation like I usually do for exciting things. Then it was off to meet the others at college to get on the coach, and off we went.

It took 5 hours to get there. (Worst 5 hours ever)

In the end, traffic was so bad we got out and walked the rest of the way.(we were walking for about 20-30 minutes, which isn’t too bad. I was just moody because we had been sitting in traffic for 40 minutes prior to that) Then, once we were finally there, I saw the queues for tickets. It was the biggest, most monstrous queue I have ever seen in my life. Luckily, we already had our tickets and were able to walk straight past the huge queue and go straight in.

Inside was incredibly overwhelming. I didn’t get any photos because I was too afraid of dropping my phone etc but other bloggers have HUNDREDS of photos of cosplayers and other bloggers. My favourite cosplayer was probably Slenderman. I love creepypasta and it was great to see such a good cosplay! I liked that when people tried to take photos, he would move and scare the crap out of everybody. Hahaha.

When I actually found my way to YALC, the first thing I did was head over to the Dystopia stand and buy a copy of Dystopia by Anthony Ergo, which I’m really excited to read! For £5, I got the book, soundtrack, signed bookmark and a wristband! So cool. I then met up with Lucy (Queen of Contemporary) which was amazing because her blog is one of the very first blogs I ever actually started following! I gave her a friendship bracelet as a little present (sad, I know, but it was cute!) and then wandered around the publishers stalls.

I also met up with these bloggers, which was amazing. I was so excited to be able to speak to them in person and meet them for the first time, ever! I loved how it wasn’t even an awkward meeting – since we had already spoken before, we had plenty to talk about! My only regret was that I didn’t get to spend longer with them.

Sabrina @ The Delirious Reader 

Sally @ The Dark Dictator

Emily @ The Book Bubble

Bella @ Cheezy Feet Books

I returned home with 8 more books than I left with, which I have to say, is a record for me. I also got plenty of bookmarks, postcards and other swag which was really cool! I wish I had picked up some of the badges, though. They would look awesome on my Books With Bite Bag!

Here’s the books I bought:

YALC Haul

I was so pleased to get Chobits, since it the first manga I ever read! I was only able to read one volume though, which I borrowed from a friend. Now I have the first four volumes!

Soulmates was already signed when I bought it, as was Slated! Slated wasn’t marked as signed though, so when I opened it up once I was home and found it was signed, I squealed! I also had a chat with Natasha Ngan and she signed the copy of The Elites that I had just bought. I’m so excited to read all of these!

I also got my copy of The Knife Of Never Letting Go signed – Which was amazing because Patrick Ness was the main reason I was so excited to go on Saturday.

I was so sad that I wasn’t able to go on the Sunday, but I had no money left after Saturday! (and I now owe Alex £14, so yeah…)

I hope everyone who went had an amazing time, and I hope those that weren’t able to go will be able to come to the next one!

5 Comments

  1. Hi. I lived studied in the UK 2 years ago & I don’t remember any exciting book-related events going around. So far this year, you have Independent Booksellers Week, YALC, BookBenches.

    I’m so jealous you got to go YALC. Since this is the 1st year, what do you think about having YALC in a film & comic book convention?

    • Hello! I know – a lot has been started up, this was the first ever book con focusing on YA in the UK that had ever happened. There’s definitely a lot more now than there was a few years ago!

      I was so happy that I got to go. And I think that while it was good, there was a big overcrowding problem. I think YALC was held there so that there would already be an audience at the venue – just in case it wasn’t as popular. But it ended up being a lot more popular than expected. I also thought that the YALC area was very small, and there actually could have been so much more. But, it was the first year, so hopefully we can see some interesting developments next time!

Leave a Reply

