Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128book info final

 

Title: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, Book #1)

Author: Rick Yancey

My Rating:blog 4 leaf rating

 sumary final

Cassie is a human teenage girl living in a world that has been destroyed by aliens. During each wave they have killed staggering amounts of humans, leaving many more vulnerable. Cassie has lost everything: her parents, her old life, and now, in the midst of the 5th wave, she has only one rule that she hopes will help her survive. Trust no one.

People who look human are roaming the dilapidated streets and abandoned countryside, killing every human in their path. This is why Cassie is alone, and she believes this will keep her safe.

But then, she meets Evan Walker, who wants to help her, and not just to find her brother. Cassie has to think hard about trusting him, and anyone else. But, in a world this ruined, trust may be all she has left.

review final

 

I really enjoyed reading The 5th Wave, even though one of my big fears is aliens. However, these aliens aren’t your big black eyed, grey skinned kind. These ones look human, and in some ways this is just as scary.

I found that Cassie was a relatable character, whilst also remaining true to her environment. The reader can sympathise with her longing for her old life, whilst having to run away from alien assassins. The plot was original and gripping, and I found it very difficult to put the book down. I was glad of this because it was a very hyped up book, and I was worried it wouldn’t live up to my expectations.

The book had me thinking that maybe there isn’t enough alien fiction in YA – it still has a lot of room to be explored.

I thought that the characters were very real and human (well… in behaviour at least), sometimes they made mistakes, but their actions were understandable. This made the characters a lot more three-dimensional and enjoyable.

One problem I did have though, was that the change in POV wasn’t all that obvious, and sometimes it took me a few lines to gather were I was in the story and who I was reading about.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

