Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent book info final

Title: Divergent (Divergent, #1)

Author: Veronica Roth

My Rating:blog 5 leaf rating

sumary final

Beatrice belongs to the Abnegation faction – a city filled with the selfless, always willing to help others and committing to a life of self-sacrifice. But Beatrice doesn’t quite fit in. When the day comes that Beatrice must choose between staying with her family, and choosing a faction that will let her be who she truly is, she makes a choice that even shocks herself.

Becoming Tris, a member of the Dauntless faction, she is thrust into a world completely unlike Abnegation, a world of violence and bravery. Her taxing initiation provides her with new friends – and new enemies – and a possible budding romance.

But Tris has a secret that has been playing on her mind ever since she chose the Dauntless faction. She’s different, and in a perfect society, that could be very dangerous.

review final

 

In honour of Divergent’s release in the UK, I’m reviewing Divergent! Maybe I’ll even get to see the film today…

My first impressions of Divergent were that the beginning was very gripping, the world had been explained very quickly and efficiently, making me want to read on. It was a very different book to what I had been expecting, There was a lot more action and plot twists, rather than the overwhelming romance that I had been expecting. However, the connection between Tris and Four was fairly obvious, but I didn’t mind because Four is a very irresistible character.

I loved the plot. It was just right – not too fast, or too slow, and it had enough twists to keep me interested (even though I had read a lot of spoilers on the internet, which were practically unavoidable considering how popular the series is).

The ending was brilliant, and I read the last half in one big chunk, and once I had finished it, I couldn’t stop raving about it and about how I needed to see the film. I thought that Tris was a very interesting main character. She wasn’t the perfect type that often comes up a lot in YA, which I liked, because it made her relatable and understandable. Though, I wish in the end she had thought a little bit more about her friends.

I found there was very little if anything in Divergent that I didn’t enjoy.

I now also have the problem that I need to get my hands on Insurgent and Allegiant.

2 Comments

  1. Great review! The concept of this book sounds really interesting. A little unrealistic, but still, it does sound pretty good and I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. As much as I do want to read this, after Allegiant was spoiled for me I’ve felt a little discouraged, hopefully I’ll get round to it sometime this summer but there’s no undoing what I already know…

Leave a Reply

