ARC Review: Stolen Songbird by Danielle L Jensen

stolen songbird book info final

Title: Stolen Songbird (Malediction Trilogy, Book #1)

Author: Danielle L Jensen

My Rating: blog 5 leaf rating

sumary final

 

Cécile is a pretty girl awaiting the chance to see her mother and further her singing career. Unfortunately, the trolls in Trollus have other ideas.

Cécile is kidnapped and taken into the cursed city of Trollus, sold off to the royal family and then is married to troll-prince Tristan – a captivating and beautiful man who’s magic even rivals that of the King.

When all Cécile can think of is escaping Trollus, the trolls themselves beg for some kind of release, unable to leave their city, buried beneath stone and hidden from the sun. However, Cécile is soon taken by the city,with its complicated politics and the troll’s magic. She find that she could be the only hope for the half-blooded trolls who are looked down on by the rest of society, and her escape becomes a significantly more complicated affair.

review final

 

I loved this book so damned much.

The fantasy and world building aspects were nigh on perfect, and the originality of writing about trolls in YA was done very well. I loved learning more about this strange world Cécile de Troyes had been thrust into, and the complete range of characters and personalities running throughout the novel was great too.

I loved Tristan, not just because he was a very attractive character, but because his growth was portrayed so well. He could be a fearsome character, but he was very lovable as well. His sections of the book were particularly well written and I loved reading from his perspective. Cécile also has chapters written from her perspective, and I found that very enjoyable, and I think that the multiple perspectives worked very well, especially towards the end when the plot thickened and everything started getting very tense.

Ah, the ending. I loved it and hated it at the same time. I loved it, because I felt so involved and in love with the characters by that time. However, the ending hurt. Because it was the end (of the first book), and I had absolutely no control over what was happening and it was a lot of stuff that I didn’t want to happen. I hate it when I get very emotionally invested with characters and then they go through hardships.

I literally cannot wait for the next books. But I have to.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

