ARC Review: Knight Assassin by Rima Jean

Knight-Assassin-Rima-Jeanbook info final

Title: Knight Assassin

Author: Rima Jean

My Rating: blog 4 leaf rating

sumary final

Zayn is a seventeen year old girl living in the time of the Crusades. As a Muslim, she is discriminated against, but that isn’t the only place where Zayn’s differences lie. She also has mysterious powers that make her stronger and faster than other humans, and when her mother is burned for witchcraft, she is taken into an Assasssin’s Guild, which enables her to seek revenge on her mother’s killer, Guy de Molay.

But of course, it was never going to be that easy. When childhood friend Earic makes an appearance, Zayn’s mission to assassinate Guy de Molay only becomes more complicated.

review final

I didn’t have high hopes for this book, because I was very grumpy over hitting a reading slump, but this book was a pleasant surprise.

The beginning was quick action, and though I found it a little shaky, I think that was due to my reluctance to read anything at all. This soon fell away though, and I found I had read a quarter of the book in one sitting.

Knight Assassin includes some downright horrible characters which the reader can easily resent, and redeeming, enjoyable characters that the reader can’t help but love. More than that, Knight Assassin was a good historical fiction novel, since it is set in a time period that isn’t often written about, at least not in YA fiction. The mythology was also very interesting and captured my attention.

By the end, I was left wanting more, especially when the epilogue mentioned Robin of Locksley. However, once I looked on NetGalley and Goodreads, it looked as if Knight Assassin could also be a standalone. If there is a next book, however, I can’t wait to read it, and learn more about Zayn and Earic.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

