ARC Review: Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic_HC_JKT_des4.inddbook info final

Title: Panic

Author: Lauren Oliver

My Rating: blog 3 leaf rating

sumary final

Panic is a game where there is everything to lose, but the winner gains a small fortune. The judges are kept secret, the players potentially endangering their lives for a huge cash prize.

Heather wants a better life for her and her sister, though she doesn’t quite know why she enters Panic with her best friend Natalie. Natalie dreams of modelling in the big city, whereas other players, like Dodge are simply seeking revenge. Either way, they all have their own reasons for entering Panic, but it is a game that they all thought would be easy, and with the stakes so high, it might be more than just the game they lose.

review final

Panic was a mixed book for me. On the one hand, it was hard to get into and a little strange – but on the other, I actually really enjoyed it and I’m eager to read more by Lauren Oliver.

I found the novel engaging when the reader knew more than the characters in the book, and I thought the plot worked quite well, there were no dry, filler patches that sometimes happen in books. There were still plenty of surprises, including the ending since I was almost certain it would be bleak.

However, I definitely think that the second half of the book was much better than the first half – the action picked up, and I found myself liking characters that I never necessarily thought I would, and even rooting for some, and yes I admit it, I shipped Bishop and Heather from the word go.

I think that Panic was a unique story, and it almost angers me when it is compared to The Hunger Games. This is no dystopia, it is real life drama, with romance and life’s obstacles.

Also, Panic is a standalone, and I want it to stay that way. Even though there was a lot of foreshadowing in the epilogue that hinted at a sequel, I feel like a sequel would just ruin a lot of the work that has been put into Panic, to make it a coherent and well made novel.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

