Review: Fire Study by Maria V Snyder

fire study

I N F O R M A T I O N

Title: Fire Study (Chronicles of Ixia, Book 3)

Author: Maria V Snyder

My Rating:

leaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating button

S U M M A R Y

The third installment in Yelena’s journey is just as action filled as the previous two. Running between both Ixia and Sitia and trying to keep the peace, Yelena must also come to terms with the fact she is a Soulfinder, one of the most powerful types of magical being. While the Sitian council worry the power will corrupt her, Yelena springs into action against Ferde, a Soulstealer guilty of murdering eleven girls. He escaped prison with the help of Cahil, another of Yelena’s many formidable enemies.

R E V I E W

I still really enjoyed this part of the series, but I had a few more problems with it than I did with the first two books.

I thought the story was getting a bit repetitive and predictable, and when there was an actual interesting plot point involving the Commander, it was explained away too easily and became uninteresting. So much more could have been done with that twist; and since it was made to seem very dramatic and important, I was a bit disappointed. Although, there were a few times I got rather involved with the story and forgot things I wanted to note down and talk about in my review. It was very much a mixed-feelings book for me.

Another thing that was different was that in this installment of the series, the story had definitely taken a dark turn. There was a lot more mentions of sexual abuse and rape that were either unnecessary or could have just been hinted at rather than said outright.

However, I still love Yelena and the way she isn’t a typical, all powerful heroine – she does need her friend’s help sometimes.She still had her headstrong character, even if sometimes she let her emotions override logical sense, which happened a lot in this novel.

While this book was less enjoyable than the others, I am still interested in the rest of the series and where Maria V Snyder will take the story next.

Leave a Reply

