Review – Legend by Marie Lu

legend_uk_ausbook info final

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

blog 3 leaf rating

sumary final

Fifteen year old June lives in the Republic, a nation torn by war.She has been born into an elite family, and is hoping to rise to success in the Republic’s most prestigious military circle. Day, a boy living in the slums, is the Republic’s most wanted criminal. When June’s brother is murdered, Day becomes a prime suspect, but when the two meet they will discover just how many lies the Republic tells it’s people.

review final

I did enjoy Legend, as I found it was a quick read with a lot of action. However, I also found that I had a few problems with the book.

I found that the voices of both of the characters were fairly similar, and it seemed like Day and June were the same person a lot of the time. Another thing that I found slightly annoying was that it was very emphasized that both that prevented me from becoming as immersed and obsessed with it like a lot of other people.

of them were extremely attractive, and it seemed like both the characters knew it as well. The romance seemed rushed to me, since one moment Day and June were just

talking and then all of a sudden they were kissing. Because of this, I felt that other parts of the story that should have been focused on, like the plague and and Thomas’s character, were left undeveloped and I felt slightly cheated at the end. I would have liked to have learned more about him and why he did what he did. I also felt that some parts of the plot were left underdeveloped, and while I understand this book is part of a trilogy, I felt like after reading the book, I knew just as much about it as I had before I started it.

Mostly, I enjoyed it because it was a quick read that was rather short, and though the first half was fairly slow and I did have a few problems with it, it was okay. I doubt I will read the rest of the series though, unless I suddenly find myself desperate to know whether Ollie the dog was harmed or not.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

