Interview with Author – Helen Whapshott

Here at BFAOT, we’re lucky enough to have Helen Whapshott join us for an interview, with the release of her first novel, The Glow, coming in March 2014!

1. Have you always wanted to be a writer?
I’ve always enjoyed creative writing and used it to unwind after school and work, when I left school I tried to get some of work published but fell victim to vanity presses, luckily I never parted with money when I realised what they were up to and decided to keep writing for my own enjoyment until I started finishing novels and wondered if anyone else would like to read my work, so I started again applying to publishers and was lucky enough to be given the opportunity at Little Bird Publishing.

2. What books/writers inspire you?
I enjoy reading and I admire writers such as Neil Gaiman,  Ben Aarononvitch, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Roald Dahl, I’m currently reading The House On Haunted Hill by Shirley Jackson,  and my favourite books are Watership Down by Richard Adams and The Book Theif by Markus Zusak.

3.Do you have a particular setting where you like to write?
I have a chair in my living room with a table where I spread out my papers and cushions and type away on my laptop 🙂

4. What are your pet rat’s names? 
I have two little girl rats called Nutmeg and Cinnamon, Nutmeg is black and white and Cinnamon is silver and white.

the rats2
5. Why do you like rats so much?
They are very loveable and intelligent animals, and they’re cute too.

6. The Glow features a lot of paranormal and witchy elements. Did you have to do a lot of research for the novel?
I’ve grown up in a Spiritualist and Pagan household and my Mum is a hedge witch so she helped me a lot. I’ve also read a lot of books and went on a lot of websites. 🙂

7. What were the main inspirations behind The Glow?
I’ve always been interested in the paranormal, I’ve started working at a children’s hospice in Guildford and, unfortunately, not all the children live into adulthood, but those who work there show the children that death isn’t scary, I wanted to get that message across to children/young adults.

8. If you could choose one song to describe The Glow, what would it be? 
Oh that’s a tough one, I’m open to suggestions or is there a willing song writer out there 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

