Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass UK Cover

I N F O R M A T I O N

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Author: Sarah J Maas

My Rating: leaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating button

S U M M A R Y

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s Assassin, locked away in a salt mine, until death takes her. Until she is offered the chance to take part in a competition, as the King’s Champion, where if she wins, she will serve the king as a killer for a number of years. After that time, she will be free.

But when the competition starts, Celaena has to tone her body which was wrecked during her time in the mines. On top of that, she has to deal with all the air-heads at court, and the brutal criminals in the competition.

R E V I E W

I loved Throne of Glass. I gobbled it up, at nearly a hundred pages a day until I had nothing left. Celaena is a lovely and awful heroine, mostly because she isn’t interesting in the heroine part. Her original and strong personality sets her apart from the limited range of main characters in YA. The whole cast of characters was diverse, and they each had their own personality and voice.

However, the point that I loved the most about the book was that the romance made sense. There was no insta-love, or complete infatuation. There was attraction that developed, definitely. But Celaena was wary, as her past lover had met an awful end only a year before. I cannot stress the point enough that IT MADE SENSE.

And I liked it. I love both Chaol and Dorian, and I can hardly decide which one deserves Celaena more (or which one she deserves) though if I had it my way I would definitely get Chaol to myself. Ha!

My one minor problem with the book was the fleeting mentions of Celaena’s gifts. I think there was one sentence that stated she had lost them a long time ago, and that was it. It was a tiny hint. There were a lot of unanswered questions at the end of the book, which of course, just left me wanting more. Since goodreads tells me the series is 6 books long (not including novellas and extras) I am very happy. Sarah J Maas, get writing, your fanbase needs it!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

