Review: Poison Study by Maria V Snyder

200px-Poison_Study

I N F O R M A T I O N

Title: Poison Study (Chronicles of Ixia, Book 1)

Author: Maria V Snyder

My Rating:

leaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating button

S U M M A R Y

Yelena Zaltana is a prisoner. She has been put on death’s row because she is a murderer, but on the day of her execution she is given the chance to live… as a food taster for the Commander of Ixia. Yelena thought she had escaped her dangerous past, but as she learns more about poisons, spending many hours with Ixia’s celebrated assassin, she realises that not all is as it seems in the Commander’s court, and that sometimes, the past is too prominent to run from.

R E V I E W

I thoroughly enjoyed Poison Study. I think it only took me a day or two to read, which is how you tell I’m really enjoying a book! I was worried at first because I was bought the first three books in the series, so I really wanted to enjoy it otherwise it would have been a waste. Thankfully, I found that Poison Study had a gripping story line, with strong, unique characters and a fairly solid new world. I say fairly solid, because although it was simple and effective, in this book, there isn’t too much that is out in the entire world, which is understandable since Yelena is still under a lock and key of sorts.

I found Maria V Snyder’s characters to be very interesting; especially Yelena. She was a very strong female character that overcame many difficulties, some specific to her world, while others were very real problems that take place in real life as well. I loved her intelligence, and how very realistic she was. Kudos to Snyder for the skill put into her! Other characters were very much the same, with the main focus on Yelena, Valek, the Commander and Rand. However, I feel like some of the villains could have been more developed.

One other problem that I had with the book was the romance. It is a lot less prominent in this book, but I still feel like it was unnecessarily focused on, especially with the book’s marketing (which I know is not the author’s fault). There were so many other points of the book that were perfectly enjoyable. That being said, there was no insta-love,or love triangles (which I find utterly boring and pointless) so the romance aspects of the book weren’t too awful.

I seriously enjoyed Poison Study, and I very eagerly started the next book in the series!

Leave a Reply

