SciFiMonth Review: Glow – Amy Kathleen Ryan

scifipostheader2

glowamykathleenryan

I N F O R M A T I O N 

Title: Glow

Author: Amy Kathleen Ryan

My Rating:

leaf rating buttonleaf rating buttonleaf rating button

S U M M A R Y

Glow revolves around the idea that Earth had become uninhabitable and main characters Waverly and Kieran are aboard one of the twin ships bound for a new planet. However, one of the ships has been gradually slowing down over a period of years so that the two ships will meet, and no one knows why. Rumour has it that the other ship doesn’t contain any children – and all of the women are infertile.

R E V I E W 

I will admit, I did judge this book before I read it. I read a few reviews on goodreads, and though I wasn’t discouraged completely, I did have low expectations. Thankfully, I was surprised.

This book is quite different to other YA books, since it tackles a lot of adult themes even right from the beginning. There are moments when Waverly is concerned and feels threatened in a way by a man on the ship. Then, later when the novel really kicks off, there are more difficulties that aren’t always expected in YA novels. I thought this was refreshing, and it made room for characters that were really awful.

However, I did have one problem early on in the book. When Waverly first speaks to Kieran who is revealed as her boyfriend, there was some dialogue that really confused the relationship between them, and left me wondering about their relationship. At first I thought they actually hated each other and were part of an arranged marriage, but apparently this isn’t the case. A good point about there relationship is that when everything gets tense, Waverly and Kieran know what is important and focus on the problems at hand, rather than pining after each other when there were more dangerous things happening.

I really liked the novel because it was gripping and was very different. There were some questions left unanswered at the end of the novel, so I’m hoping those will be covered in later books!

Now, since this is part of #RRSciFiMonth, I’m going to talk a little bit about the sci-fi parts.

It wasn’t a novel where the sci-fi was very in depth and difficult to understand. It was easily readable, and there wasn’t any more technical stuff than what was necessary to the story. I liked this, because science confuses me easily and I’d rather just enjoy the book. Whether this was because the book is aimed at young adults, or because of the writing style, it isn’t clear, but nonetheless the quality is still good. You could definitely tell this was a sci-fi novel though, since it is set in space and all of the story takes place between two ships.

I did enjoy this book, and I would definitely read more like it! Onwards with #RRSciFiMonth, hosted by Rinn Reads!

12 Comments

  1. Pingback: Around the Blogosphere #1 | Book Blogging

  2. I love how this book is new in YA writing, I am so tired of all the love triangles and perfect heroines. If you like unique YA books that stray from the norm and you haven’t read it already you should check out The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugho, I could do nothing but gush when I reviewed the first 2.

  3. Pingback: Announcement: Sci-Fi Month Schedule |Rinn Reads

Leave a Reply

