‘Lolita’ – Vladimir Nabokov Review

lolita-cover tumblr_lw6ea0VIvH1qadlzho1_500

LOLITA – VLADIMIR NABOKOV

Published: First Published 1955, Penguin Classics Edition 2000.

Goodreads: 3.83 stars

Awe and exhilaration—along with heartbreak and mordant wit—abound in Lolita, Nabokov’s most famous and controversial novel, which tells the story of the aging Humbert Humbert’s obsessive, devouring, and doomed passion for the nymphet Dolores Haze. (From Goodreads Summary)

Amazon: 4.3 stars

My Rating: 6/10

This book is rather hard to review. The controversial content in this book makes the reader feel uneasy, to the point where many readers have declared this one of the many Should-Not-Be-Read-Ever books.

I didn’t feel this way; the book was still interesting to me, even though I felt disgust towards a lot of the content. However, it wasn’t just Humbert Humbert’s perverse ways – it was his reasoning behind it, and the willingness of Dolores Haze. In the beginning, she almost encourages Humbert, which made me feel more than uncomfortable. Then, she grows older and grows to hate the things Humbert makes her do.

I enjoyed Lolita. But it wasn’t as enthralling as some people made it seem, neither was it quite as shocking as I was expecting. However, I found the writing style dry and had to force myself through some parts of the novel. What did interest me was the mixing in of two poems that Humbert Humbert writes. I liked the poetry much more than the novel – which lead me to discover Pale Fire, one of Nabokov’s other works.

All in all, whilst I liked Lolita’s inducing of discomfort, I didn’t enjoy the novel thoroughly, but I still feel inclined to read Nabokov’s other works.

Leave a Reply

